If you’ve been charged with a violation, misdemeanor, or felony in Onondaga County, you need an advocate who will work hard to minimize the consequences and interruption to your life. I work hard to defend my clients’ livelihood, reputation, and most importantly — freedom.
I want to hear about your case and develop a winning strategy. What is “winning?” Well, to me, a win is a dismissal of all of the charges. Of course, that is not possible in all cases. For those where a dismissal of the charges is not an option, either due to the severity of the offense or a previous criminal history, I will aggressively negotiate and litigate with the State to achieve an outcome that minimizes negative consequences. If all else fails — I’ll take your case to trial and force the State to prove their case.
Call me and we will set up an appointment that is convenient for you, assess your case, and detail a strategy. If you want to move forward, only then will we discuss lawyer fees. I have a proven record of working with my clients who have budgetary concerns. And as a former active duty servicemember, I am particularly sensitive to the needs and concerns of our nation’s warriors.
Common Charges in New York
Unlawful Possession of Marijuana (Penal Law section 221.05): This is the least serious marijuana charge under New York law. It is considered a violation, not a crime. But make no mistake about it, there can be serious collateral consequences for servicemembers or students. For example, a college student convicted of a marijuana violation while receiving federal student aid will see their eligibility affected. If you are a college student charged with unlawful possession of marijuana, contact my office to discuss your options. We have ways to avoid these negative consequences.
Petit Larceny (PL 155.25): When you are accused of stealing under $1,000 worth of property, the state will charge you with petit larceny. This Class A misdemeanor carries a maximum fine of $1,000 and a maximum jail sentence of 1 year (as well as an expensive surcharge). We represent people accused of this crime every day, and can often negotiate a significant reduction, or even a dismissal, of the charge. Sometimes, to avoid a trial, the state will allow a plea to a violation-level offense. If your records is clean, we might be able to negotiate a dismissal.
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle (Vehicle and Traffic Law section 511): The degree of this offense dictates whether it is a misdemeanor or a felony, and the maximum punishment:
- AUO in the 3rd degree: Driving on a suspended license. A misdemeanor with a maximum $500 fine and 30 days in jail.
- AUO in the 2nd degree: Driving on a suspended license when you’ve been convicted previously of AUO 3rd, or your suspension is related to certain previous or pending alcohol-driving related offenses, or you have in effect 3 or more suspensions for failure to answer a summons or pay a fine. This misdemeanor carries a maximum $1,000 fine and 180 days in jail. There is also a mandatory sentence of imprisonment or probation.
- AUO in the 1st degree: Driving on a suspended license while intoxicated, or while you have 10 or more suspensions, or while your license is permanently revoked. This Class E felony has a maximum fine of $5,000 and a possible jail sentence of 1 to 4 years.
Harassment (PL 240.25, 26, 30, 31): The offense of assault requires a physical injury to the victim under New York law. Thus, you will often see a charge of “harassment in the second degree” after a physical altercation which does not result in physical injury. Harassment-2nd covers striking, shoving, kicking, or other physical contact, or attempting the same, with an intent to “harass, annoy or alarm.” (It also covers other conduct, such as following a person “in or about a public place,” but the charge is most common after someone punches or hits someone else).